Keeping it Real

writingpen

 

It has been almost a year since my last post.  I started a new job, got stuck on a new horror novel, and was at the proverbial fork in the road in regards to indie publishing.  Writing has been such a blessing and learning process.  I am a better writer today than I was when I started.  However, there is much to still learn.

Recently I read Rayne Hall’s book “Why Does My Book Not Sell?” on my Kindle.  I learned much through her honesty and sincerity.  One mistake I learned from was to not be strapped to one seller, like Amazon.  My first book sold pretty well and I was in the top twenty in the mystery category, but that did not last long.  My second book barely reached the top 100 in the same category.  It was a great learning lesson.  The more platforms you have, the more the book will sell.

I tried or rather am attempting to write a Horror novel.  I would classify the book as Classic/Fantasy Horror, if that is even a category.  The problem I have run into writing this book is the backstory (I forgot to create).  I did not plan the novel, like I should have and have gotten stuck on numerous occasions.  When I get stuck, I stop writing.   Some reflection is good, however, it would typically be weeks or months before I would revisit the project.  Why?  I got out of my routine.  The routine is more essential than I first understood.

I have come full circle on the whole writing process.  When I started I really wanted to be the next somebody.  However, I have learned you have to be you and develop whatever style that is in you.  Also I should be writing for me.  I need to tell the stories that I would like to read.  In doing this, I will find my audience.  I will never be like a John Locke or Lee Child, but I can be me.  Therefore, writing can become fun again.

About sdrobbiswriting

Hey my name is S.D. Robb and I am a writer, blogger. I love writing action thrillers. This blog is dedicated to the fun and amazing world of writing.
This entry was posted in Mystery, thinking, Thriller, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

