The use of the ending “ly” in your verbs

writing-2

 

Over a year ago I began writing fiction.  I had never attempted writing before in my life, therefore, I did some research and found some books thru the Kindle.  I read many different blogs and books on how to write and create your story.  It was all helpful material, however, many authors discouraged the use adding “ly” to the end of verbs.

The thought behind the non-use of “ly” was due to the fact that using it cheapens the verb.  A “true writer” (as they would write) would work hard to find a verb in order avoid the “ly”.  I bought into this theory for a time and did my best to find alternatives for my writing.  I did understand and see the point those authors were making.

However, the other I was jogging and listening to the book A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.  It was interesting because the more I listened the more “ly” verbs I heard.  At one point I heard three “ly” verbs in one sentence.  I was floored.

This revelation got me thinking about the “ly”.  Charles Dickens is one of the greatest writers of all time and if he reaches for an “ly” for his verbs then in reality it must be fine.  I realize I am not Charles Dickens or anywhere close to a writer of his caliber.  However, Dickens used any and all words he choose.  He did not limit himself.  Therefore, why was I limiting myself.

For me, all I can write is that I try to keep a balanced approach in my writing and the types of verbs or adjectives I use.  However, writers need to write and they need to have the freedom to use whatever words they feel are best.  Good luck on your road to writing.

About sdrobbiswriting

Hey my name is S.D. Robb and I am a writer, blogger. I love writing action thrillers. This blog is dedicated to the fun and amazing world of writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

