FInding Time to Write

I have read many blogs and ebooks about writing. Many if not all have said the same thing about finding the time to write. I knew this would be true, however, I did not think it would happen to me. Oh course, it did. It seems crazy, because once one day passes another day will soon pass and then a month and then a couple of months. I have soon realized that I had not written anything.

It all started when I reached a point in my new book where I did not know where to go with it. I was about 25,000 words into and I was stuck. In fact I am still stuck. I thought a break would be good and in some ways it has. However, I was not accomplishing anything. I was not writing. I stopped writing my blogs. While the break was good and may be even much needed, I regret the time lost in writing.

What I learned from the time lost is that even if I need a break, I still need to write something each day. Each day I need to work on my craft and develop my style. Whether the time I have is 15 minutes or an hour or two. When you work and write in your spare time this can be difficult to balance everything.

I am a first time author/ writer. Before I started writing I was not on Twitter or Goodreads. I received a Kindle as a Christmas gift and I found some books on writing and they peeked my interest. I learned about setting up a platform through social media. However, when you are an indie writer like me finding the time to do all of this and write becomes increasingly difficult.

If you are like me then you would rather not pay someone to do the work for you. I was not in a position to do so anyway. The way to balance it all when you are first starting out is to do a little here and little bit there. You may not do everything well, but that is besides the point. The point is to do what you can. If you can only tweet once a day then do that. If you can only afford to write for 15 minutes then do it. Baby steps help us toward accomplishing our goals. Good Luck taking your baby steps!

About sdrobbiswriting

Hey my name is S.D. Robb and I am a writer, blogger. I love writing action thrillers. This blog is dedicated to the fun and amazing world of writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

