What is Faith?

faith-and-reason

 

The intersection of Faith and Reason is very difficult place to navigate.   In my book The Cartel Corporation, I explore many differing issues and one of them is “faith”.  The main character, James Wright experiences a traumatic event and causes him to question the faith that he grew up with.  While all the issues with his faith are going on, he is also dealing with contract killers trying to kill him.

After I had written the book, I began to wonder what does the James Wright think about all this happening to him.  How would it affect his faith, if he had any?  Hopefully the book captures the real, raw emotion that happens when traumatic events happen to us.  While I do not want to give too much away, I will write that it was important for James to speak for himself whether good or bad about faith.  I want my characters in my books to speak for themselves and communicate that.

Voltaire said, “Faith consists in believing when it is beyond the power of reason to believe.”

Nietzsche said, “A casual stroll through the lunatic asylum shows that faith does not prove anything.”

What is faith?  I believe that is a question that is different for everyone.  For some, it involves a certain deity, for others it is a belief in self, and still for others it is something entirely for themselves.  My goal in the book isn’t to answer that question, it is to explore it.

In the book I am writing now, the goal is to continue to explore this idea of faith or reason.  Therefore, this is the part of the blog where you comment let me know what you think faith is.  Feel free to share what you think.  I am interested to find out.

About sdrobbiswriting

Hey my name is S.D. Robb and I am a writer, blogger. I love writing action thrillers. This blog is dedicated to the fun and amazing world of writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What is Faith?

  1. K says:

    Sounds like an interesting read. I am always curious about the journey a person takes and how their belief system is formed. I have been taught that faith is something hoped for that is not seen; in my experience, when I feel faith in something or someone, I feel comforted. I feel like everything will work out for the best, even if it’s not necessarily the way I would plan for it to happen. I also believe faith is a principle that requires action on my part for it to work, i.e. “I have faith that exercising will give me more energy,” or “I have faith that God will help me fulfill my goals,” but I have to exercise/make goals and have a plan and work toward them for faith to be active in my life. 🙂 What about you?

    • I really appreciate your comment. I think we exercise faith everyday in many different ways. For faith is exercised in a god or God, while for others it may reflect a code. I give answers for a living, so in writing this book I wanted to leave it open. Also that would mean open for interpretation. Read the preview on Amazon and you will see what I mean. The book is called The Cartel Corporation. Thanks so much for your comment and stopping by. I appreciate it.

  2. RAMU DAS says:

    Faith, according to me, is an adherence to a certain belief.

  3. My first thought is to quote Hebrews 11:1 “Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” (NIV) But I suspect you are familiar with the verse and are looking for something a little more personal. For me, faith is a measuring stick. It means that what I believe in completely must be a core of every decision I make. Even if I fail to measure up, the fact that I have faith means that I am tethered (hopefully in a positive way) to my professed system of that faith and I must evaluate myself based on that. Does that sound too grim? I’m fascinated by this because I’m also a writer and I spend a lot of time inside the minds of my characters to the point that I can almost imagine when and where they have an itch. That being said, I don’t know that I have spent enough time actually reflecting on their definitions of faith and exploring the ways in which they make their decisions. I think I have done that on some level, but maybe not enough. Thanks for the post. You’ve given me a lot to think about.

  4. mybroom says:

    Here’s my take on faith – Faith is not something we bring to God from our own substance and hope that it is enough to move His hand… It is something we take from God because Christ’s sacrifice was enough, and we have confidence in the accomplishments of the blood of Christ!! cheers Graeme

Leave a Reply

