What is Real Beautiful?

I really wish I had a better explanation for why at 15 I was wearing a tux.  I was not in a wedding.  Nor was I going to be in a wedding in the near future.  It remains one of the mysterious in life.  However, upon looking at this picture recently I think I probably did not want to remember what I was doing in a tux.

We live in a culture and society that tells us what beauty is.  However, my question is, is what our culture says is beautiful really beautiful?  The old cliche of ‘beauty is in the eye of the beholder’ while this is true, it does not feel true at times.  It can be easy for some of us to stand in front of a mirror and look at ourselves and think ‘If I only looked like this…Or if I only had that taken care of.  While the mirror is a reflection of ourselves, it is truly what we think of ourselves that we will see in it.

Real beauty is the lines in people’s faces from age.  It is circles under the eyes.  It is the scalp with thinning hair.  Its is the nose that is just the right size.  I am not writing that if you make such changes that you are wrong for doing so.  However, what I am writing is that we are beautiful because that is how we were created to be.

I am only wondering out loud and on a blog but may be it is hard to accept the image in the mirror we reflect because it is hard to accept ourselves.  For me looking at that image of that kid was hard to do, even difficult to accept.  It was a journey to really accept myself for the way I looked for years after high school.  However, when I began accepting the person in the mirror was when the burden that I carried of self-doubt fell off my shoulders.

You may feel the mirror says one thing to you, but you are beautiful no matter what.  Beautiful is what everyone is.

About sdrobbiswriting

Hey my name is S.D. Robb and I am a writer, blogger. I love writing action thrillers. This blog is dedicated to the fun and amazing world of writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is Real Beautiful?

  1. Mjollnir says:


    Couldn’t resist. 🙂

Leave a Reply

