What to do when the storm of life closes in?

Vincent Van Gogh said, “The fishermen know that the sea is dangerous and the storm terrible, but they have never found these dangers sufficient reason for remaining ashore.”

Storms are a part of life. Depending upon your part of the world you may be used to the seasons of storms.  Seattle gets rain all the time, and the East Coast receives the seasonal hurricanes.  While Canada begins to get snowed in near the end of October.  California and the southwest part of the U.S. receive sunshine almost everyday.  Different parts of the world receive a differing climate.  Stormy weather is just a part of life and the weather system you have in your part of the world.  Much like life in itself, storms come and go.  Some are bigger than others.  Some people have more storms than others do.  Still other storms leave lasting marks and even though we wake up to a new day, we can still see the lasting affects on our lives from the storms.

The storms in life are inevitable, however, it is how we sail through them that makes the difference.  Jimmy Dean said, “I can’t change the direction of the wind but I can adjust my sails to always reach my destination.”  I believe that statement has been very true for me.  As I stare at my impending unemployment in a few months, I realize that if I change my sail then I can navigate this storm that is fast approaching me.

Much like the fishermen from Van Gogh’s quote there is a storm out on the sea, however, there is also opportunity.

About sdrobbiswriting

Hey my name is S.D. Robb and I am a writer, blogger. I love writing action thrillers. This blog is dedicated to the fun and amazing world of writing.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Faith, Hope, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What to do when the storm of life closes in?

  1. Seyi sandra says:

    Great uplifting post and I love the picture, it’s so cool!

  2. You forgot our earthquakes in CA. 🙂 Not all sun.

Leave a Reply

